Chairpersons and Committee

brasil-flag Clique na bandeira para obter uma versão melhor desta página.

We invite you to meet Mr. Miguel Angel Sanz, Mr. Guillaume Clairet, Mr. Juan Miguel Pinto, and Mr. Renato Ramos, Chairpersons for the Technical Program, along with the Technical Program Committee Members.  All committee members are global pioneers in desalination.

Mr. Miguel Angel Sanz
IDA Director and Director of Strategic
Development of SUEZ, France

Miguel Angel Sanz is currently Director of Strategic Development of SUEZ, Treatment Solutions. He has 32 years of professional experience in desalination as well as in the drinking water and wastewater fields.

He joined the Degrémont group in 1983, in Spain, where he led the Project Department. From 1992 to 2002, he was Technical and Project Director for the Spanish subsidiary. From 2002 to 2006, he was Desalination Manager and Deputy Technical Director for Degrémont group. From 2006 to 2009, he was Director of Business Development in Degrémont Iberia, and from 2009 to 2014 he was Director of Development and Innovation of Degrémont, based in France. As of January1, 2015, Degrémont and all companies of the group became SUEZ.

Mr. Sanz has been a member of the IDA Board of Directors since 2009, and currently serves as Chairman of the 2017 World Congress Technical Program Committee as well as a member of Affiliates Committee. Mr. Sanz received his Industrial Engineer degree in 1981 from Bilbao High Technical School of Engineers.

Mr. Guillaume Clairet
IDA Director and Chief Operating Officer
H2O Innovation Inc., Canada

Guillaume Clairet is currently the Executive Vice President of H2O Innovation, a leading company in water treatment related technologies. Mr Clairet initially started his career in the water industry as a research associate for the National Institute of Scientific Research (INRS) where he conducted several studies on the contamination of ground water from military training activities. Mr. Clairet joined H2O Innovation in 2003 when the company was still at the start up stage. He played a key role in the rapid growth of H2O Innovation through various positions such as Project Manager, Sales Manager and International Business Development Director. Mr. Clairet received a Physics Engineering Degree from Laval University in Quebec, Canada and he completed a Master in Business Administration (MBA) at the University of San Diego, USA. He has been elected on the Board of Directors of the International Desalination Association since 2011 and he is a member of WEF, AWWA and AMTA. He is also a registered Professional Engineer in the Province of Quebec, Canada.

Mr. Juan Miguel Pinto
IDA Director and Sales Manager
Desalination Americas for Energy Recovery United States

Juan Miguel Pinto currently holds the position of Sales Manager, Desalination Americas for Energy Recovery Inc (ERI). He has been involved in the water industry for more than 10 years. He joined ERI on 2004 and he played key roles through various Departments such as R/D, Engineering, Project Management and Sales. He has authored and co-authored over 9 international publications.

Mr. Pinto serves on the Board of Directors of the International Desalination Association (IDA), as well as La Association Latino Americana de Desalacion y Reuso (ALADYR). Additionally, He served on the Board of Directors of the Caribbean Desalination Association (CARIBDA) on 2012.

Mr. Pinto received an Industrial Engineering Degree from Universidad Catolica Andres Bello in Caracas, Venezuela. He also received a Certification in Master in Business Administration (MBA) and Project Management from the University of California at Berkeley.

Mr. Renato Giani Ramos
Latin America Commercial Director, Dow Water & Process Solutions, Brazil

Renato Ramos is currently responsible for Desalinization and Reuse Chamber in Brazil Sanitary Engineering Association (ABES). He holds the role of Commercial Director for Dow Water and Process Solutions in Latin America. Possessing more than 20 years of experience in the water market, he earned a degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Campinas and earned a Master Degree in Water and Wastewater Treatment from the University of São Paulo. He also holds an Executive MBA.

Committee Members:Advisory Committee:
Dr. Ahmed Al-Arifi, KSA
Professor Gary Amy, USA
Mr. Antonio Casanas, Spain
Professor Maria Kennedy, The Netherlands
Professor In S. Kim, Korea
Mr. Shawn Meyer-Steele, USA
Mr. Roberto Olivares, Mexico
Mr. Harry Seah, Singapore
Mr. Nikolay Voutchkov, France

Mr. Leon Awerbuch, USA
Dr. Emilio Gabbrielli, Brazil